Rigidity (Part One)

This post is now available in the ‘Life with an Autistic Son’ ebook available to download from Amazon.

LWAAS 3d book cover

This entry was posted in asd, aspergers, autism and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Rigidity (Part One)

  1. addercatter says:

    I really like reading your blog. There’s so much I want to say but that’s the only sentence that feels appropriate after what I just read. Thank you for sharing. Kat

  2. So true – ‘once he experiences it, that’s how it should be’. Think you’ve hit the nail on the head with that! That’s why I am always very careful when I do things for the first time….! Rigidity, which also comes out in my girl’s case, as her need for control. My poor Mum (Nana) tried to collect my girl from school once – with pre-warning to our daughter I might add – and she had a total breakdown (my daughter that is) and refused to leave. Cue me jumping into car to go get her myself – luckily I wasn’t too far away…..!

  3. kathryn says:

    I have 3 autistic children and this is so familiar. My dad who my youngest adores went to pick her up from playgroup as a treat to be greated with screams of ‘no not you’ and playgroup staff being hit as they were trying to usher her out. I had to pick her up in the end. It’s comforting to know you’re not the only one sometimes🙂 x

  4. Chris says:

    Excellent blog post.

  5. Reblogged this on multicolouredsmartypants and commented:
    EXCELLENT post from ‘Life with an Autistic Son’. This is what daily life with ASD is like (among other things).

    Our biggest struggles with Prince are with rigidity of thinking. The tantrums now only occur about once a week or less, but our latest struggle has been with getting him to sit at the dinner table. Long story. But I’m not backing down on family meal times! If ever anything is ‘not what I expected in my head, Mummy’, we have the delight of hearing about it for the next five hours. No exaggeration! Until it makes you want to scream for him to shut the &^%$!!! up… which is not helpful. But this is the everyday reality of life with autism. It is VERY DRAINING. Prince is a wonderful, insightful, charming boy, but he can sometimes leave us exhausted, especially when we’re caring for his ‘mainstream’ sister and his as-yet-undiagnosed Asperger’s sister.

  6. The joys of autism! So tough for our kids when they battle with change.

  7. Pingback: Rigidity (Part Two) | Life with an Autistic Son

Leave a Reply

