Not S.M.A.R.T.

This post is now available in the ‘Life with an Autistic Son’ ebook available to download from Amazon.

LWAAS 3d book cover

This entry was posted in asd, aspergers, autism and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not S.M.A.R.T.

  1. I know exactly what you mean, both with the acronyms (I work in the oil sector and I have never seen so many lol) but also with the ASD and school approach to IEP’s generally being C.R.A.P !

  2. This is one area parents need to be informed of. I am not sure how many of them know that they can adjust their child’s IEP if needed. Last year we had to make an adjustment to our son’s IEP to make sure he was strapped in by car seat while riding the bus. He was freeing himself from the belt they had been using and running all over the bus while in motion. It does not matter to me if I am perceived as difficult. What matters, all that matters is that my son is well taken care of and receives every support he is entitled to. Thank you for sharing!

  3. aefountain says:

    My son is 18 years old and I have spent a great deal of time on IEPs, as they are required in order to get funding within our school system. Troy requires an aide 100% of the time.
    For most the journey, I have been unhappy with the IEPs, but for the past several years we now truly have the collaborative effort it should be.
    Things to note: When talking about my son and he hasn’t been invited to a meeting, I would place a 8 1/2 by 10 photo of him in the middle of the boardroom table and turn it to whoever was talking about my son. I wanted to ensure they realized he was a person and not some tick on a worksheet they had completed, 30 minutes prior to arrival of this meeting.
    Troy will not grow up to be a colour-block sorter. As a matter of fact, I have yet to encounter such a position in the work world. What he can learn to do is sort socks by colour, divide cutlery into three sections, or stack different coloured cups. These are things that could matter in the real world.
    Since Troy is undiagnosed, we can clearly accept the fact that he is not going to fit the learning pattern of ‘normal’ children. Therefore, let’s look at what Troy CAN do and work off that, instead of what he can’t do and you want him to do. If one thing Troy has taught me, he will learn it when he has an interest and he’ll let us know.
    Parents are the second most important part of an IEP, the child being the first. IEPs should NOT be dictorial but inclusive of all who are in his life.
    Taking what they are working on in school and adapting it into your home life is important, and vice versa.

Leave a Reply

