Child’s play

This post is now available in the ‘Life with an Autistic Son’ ebook available to download from Amazon.

LWAAS 3d book cover

This entry was posted in asd, aspergers, autism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Child’s play

  1. kj says:

    What a wonderful post!!

    My son too has ASD. Throughout the first half of your post I was desperate to leave a comment suggesting that you play with him, then I read the second part and realised that you were.

    I don’t know if you believe in God/fate/divine being, but I believe that everyone is born where and when they were for a purpose. We were given our children because we are the right mothers for them.

    Play with your son and cherish it.

    One day they will grow up and may not want to play with us anymore.

    I’m definitely adding you to my RSS feeder. Thanks for writing so honestly!

  2. Similar thoughts from me too. Once there is no limit given by the standard developmental milestones, there is the freedom to play and giggle at anything which entertains both of you. The bond with parent and child is such a foundation, good for both sides…healing and reassuring.

    Yes, I am now being told to ‘go away’ because I am now not needed in that intense way, though a sudden interest in a new activity might call for hours of my day once again. I still have to be pretty ready to jump when I am needed. I do not want to provoke a disappointed huff and who knows how long a wait before a new interest might show itself again.

  3. Thank you for such an honest and heartwarming post.

    My son has Aspergers and is very hard work. I think patience is key. It will pay off. Our son is nearly 11 and the diagnosis of Aspergers only came through very recently, even though I suspected he had ‘something’ on the spectrum from the age of three.

    We stumbled through just ‘firefighting’ the problems as and when they arose. Made all the harder by the fact that we didn’t have a real diagnosis, so didn’t know what we were contending with. Certainly, no-one believed us when we said we felt something wasn’t quite right.

    I think you have the right idea when you say you won’t get hung up on developmental milestones. Each milestone that he reaches by himself will be a wonderful achievement. And as for the future, I’m sure you will be very proud of him.

    Stay strong.
    best wishes
    Mary

  4. B's dad says:

    Thanks everyone for the kind words and advice. It is very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

