What people will say (part one)

Amongst the concerns I have is a very selfish one: what people will say when they find out I have an autistic son.

I think people I work with will say: ‘like father, like son’ and ‘the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree’. They will make a link between what I am like and my son’s condition. At work I have quite a small circle of people I am close to. I’m a quiet member of the staff room and don’t tend to get involved in social situations. I’d say I’m fairly shy although I imagine some might interpret this as being withdrawn or even aloof. I realise this probably sounds like the traits of autism!
I don’t think I am on the ‘spectrum’, but it is certainly something I have reflected on. I wonder if other parents think like this? What are the known genetic/hereditary links?

This entry was posted in asd, aspergers, autism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What people will say (part one)

  1. I think a lot of parents go through this sort of self questioning. Not only do I have a son with ASD but also a 9 year old daughter with aspergers and there are others in my family (across the generations) who we also believe to be high functioning autistics. For my family, I am convinced that genetics are involved and I know other families think the same of their situations but I’m not sure where we are with the science on this?

  2. Good question – and one that I have thought about a lot. I have an 11 year old son with Asperger’s and do not think he is alone in our family. I also think it is likely I have it and was misdiagnosed as a child – it raises the question of how girls present their symptoms and the difficulty of the diagnostic process. I think the important thing to remember is that while there are probably many people who have it and don’t realize it, they also probably don’t need to know it. They day to day functioning is fine. It is when an individual had difficulty coping with the demands of daily life that the diagnosis – and thus, the support and treatment – becomes important.

    I’m enjoying reading about your experience – looking forward to more posts!

Leave a Reply

