Dear Santa 2012

This post is now available in the ‘Life with an Autistic Son’ ebook available to download from Amazon.

LWAAS 3d book cover

This entry was posted in asd, aspergers, autism and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Dear Santa 2012

  1. M says:

    Beautiful post and one which really inspires hope.

  2. thebear says:

    Ooh this really is heart lifting . Its lovely that you can see such progress from last year. Small Boy loves Christmas especially the multi coloured lights although he can be pretty matter of fact about things like when i excitiedly told him how Santa comes down the chimney he asked flatly why does he not just use the door . lol. I hope this time next year you are reflecting on yet more progress.

  3. Beth says:

    I love the bit about having broader shoulders and more strength – what an excellent way to describe it! I hope you have a wonderful Christmas – I shall look forward to reading about it ;-)

  4. solodialogue says:

    My son too, is all about vehicles – he lives the logos and quizzes me nonstop about the models which I have no clue about ( but I’m kind of learning because I’m being taught anyway, like it or not!). Glad to hear if the progress. Merry Christmas!

  5. L is easy – he just loves Playmobil. We get around the relatives not knowing what to buy issue by creating an Amazon wish list each year. Sadly, a few weeks ago he came and stared at me intently and asked ‘Mummy does Father Christmas exist – are you Father Christmas?’ When asked directly I couldn’t lie. A few days later he said, ‘Mummy, I was quite sad when you told me about Santa because i was planning on staying awake so i could say hello to him this year.’

  6. sue philcox says:

    We have accepted the fact that Christmas will probably never mean the same to Henry as it does to typical boys his age. However, he does pore with great interest over photos of Christmas dinners from previous years and this year has started hugging a small artificial tree that I bought for his older brother. So there’s hope! I’ve found it easier to make a present list for him this year too – although we are still firmly in the sensory category of gifts. And at least we’ve got past the old problem that he used to say ‘crimas’ for both crisps and Christmas. Given that he would always choose the former, it made mentioning the festive season fraught with danger…

  7. Louise says:

    Fantastic post, I was in a pretty dark place this time last year but reading this made me realise how far we have come since then. We are lucky that Aidan seems to ‘get’
    Christmas, we are fortunate to be going to Lapland this year and he can’t wait to ask Santa for a penguin pillow. He loves Dr Who aswell so I have bought him a Tardis tent and a 4 foot inflatable dalek, lord knows where I’ll put them but I can’t wait to see his face!!!

  8. JKrouwel says:

    “Newcomers to the blog might think they are reading about the world’s most mollycoddled child- the ultimate spoilt brat with weak, indulgent parents. These people do not have an autistic child. Readers who do will know exactly what I’m talking about.”

    Thanks for this. I know exactly what you are talking about!

  9. Rich B says:

    I agree it does change over time. this year our boy, A, is spotting Xmas trees in the shops and was thrilled when we switched on a few fairy lights outside. He’s just turned 4 and when the artificial tree was put up today my wife rang me at work to say he was lying down in the xmas tree box watching cartoons on the iPad quite happy.

  10. caleb72 says:

    Christmas is going to be difficult for us. Olly pretty much only plays with Thomas & Friends toys, specifically two at a time, and always one green, one blue. It’s really hard getting presents from us, but the requests for ideas for relatives is a real struggle. We have ordered quite a few sensory toys for him and we will just have to wait and see how these are received. It’s so hard with him being non verbal too. Maybe this time next year will be a differen story. I hope so. Great post as always!

  11. Think you hit the nail on the head – ‘the strength to manage it better’. That definitely contributes to how things will be different around here this Christmas. We’ve just learned how to prepare better generally, and are further along our ‘journey’ of knowing what will cause upset or not. We’re in a similar position to you where the types of toys do get less different to their peers’ wish list, even if our daughter can’t actually write it down like they might. No surprises were key last year but this year we can manage that too. So it definitely does all become less stressful thankfully, and now I’ve stopped spending and only have the wrapping to do (groan!), I’m really looking forward to it!

  12. Al says:

    Farting teddy bear? I agree. What is the world coming to? More importantly, where can I get one?!!!

  13. Donna M says:

    Wonderful. Thank you. The isolation is the hardest. We too are getting to a point where social activities are becoming potentially possible. We’re more able to bear it, and find it easier to tell people off… It’s so hard though isn’t it, thank you for your fantastically written blog.

Leave a Reply

