Accepting Autism

This week I am a guest blogger over on The Telegraph’s ‘Mother Tongue’ blog. I wrote about my earliest experiences of coming to terms with autism, as well as my experiences of how others accept autism. It was a good opportunity to reflect on some of the things that were too painful and raw to deal with at the time. Perhaps by sharing this, others might take comfort in the way they have felt, or feel now. Here’s the link:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/women/mother-tongue/9602643/Accepting-Autism-one-fathers-path-to-understanding-his-son.html

This entry was posted in autism. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Accepting Autism

  1. M says:

    Thank you. Your article is able to articulate what so many families are going through. I’ve directed many friends, (well the ones that stick around for the journey) to your blog and now your article as it truly feels like you’re on our families team. You have a gift. Never stop sharing.

  2. I agree. Brilliant writing as always :)

  3. Zoe says:

    Well done you! Your article actually describes me – my husband was (and still is) the most accepting one of the two of us. Thank you for sharing x

  4. Fiona says:

    I really enjoyed reading this piece. Thank you for sharing your experiences.

  5. Autistic says:

    You are making good decisions. I hope more are made. We are confusing and frustrating to you. The same is true in reverse.

    It does vary from person to person, the amount of frustration it causes.

  6. B's Dad says:

    Thanks everyone. There are some really interesting comments on there too. My favourite is probably the one that calls me a ‘whiny parent blogger’! I’m seriously considering renaming this blog to that.

Leave a Reply

