The Autism Diet (dessert)

This post is now available in the ‘Life with an Autistic Son’ ebook available to download from Amazon.

LWAAS 3d book cover

This entry was posted in asd, aspergers, autism and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Autism Diet (dessert)

  1. Different is good and happy is brilliant! Again, a post which feels like it could have come from my life – I feel your food pain. It’s a wonder our girl hasn’t turned into a ‘fry’ or a Pringle. We said that too her once then had to laugh when she ate lots more, then said in a slightly surprised kind of way ‘see, I haven’t changed, I’m still the same’ :)

  2. Shells says:

    Great pieces. A lot like our life. Love the way you express how fabulous your boy is, even when he’s obviously so challenging too. We have made very little progress on the food front in about 4 years (DS is 8) but same as yours, he’s actually pretty healthy despite appalling diet. We’ll see.

  3. My boy is similar in many ways but will not touch a fry or anything remotely easy to prepare and serve! Lunch is his worst meal and he probably only eats two or three lunches a week. Like your boy, the connection between stomach and brain and language is tenuous. He was chronically underweight from around 4 months old and only now consistently on the chart. Sometimes I feel bad when we go out and he just refuses to eat anything. He will drink a ginger beer, lemonade, milkshake or a cup to tea (not water!) so they are our fallback position. But mostly I’m over worrying about it and just try to balance his calorie intake over the week rather than freaking out meal to meal.

  4. We found that H’s ability to sit for long periods at the table increased hugely when we bought a Tripp Trapp chair, on the advice of the therapist we were seeing at the time. His feet are always supported and apparently, if you set it at the right height (so that lower arms form a right angle with upper arms when resting on the table, and lower legs with upper when feet are on the platform) it helps with proprioception and therefore with concentration. It’s not perfect ( as I type this he is running backwards and forwards from the kitchen to the living room shoving a piece of toast into his mouth, but that’s because I am being Bad Mum and writing this instead of sitting with him). However in general he sits up for whole meals now, which he certainly didn’t before. Watch your toes if you do get one -the chair is obviously named for a reason and has received more abuse than a piece of furniture deserves…

    • B's Dad says:

      I’d never heard of these but a quick google and I found them. I really like the look of them (well maybe not the look, but certainly the idea). Thanks for sharing.

  5. Fiona says:

    I’m so much enjoying reading your blog and am really looking forward to looking back over the archive. Thanks so much for your words.

  6. Al says:

    I love your blog. Your son sounds so similar to mine! I too am amazed at his robust health, especially his extremely fast growing, thick lustrous hair, considering my failure to get him to try new foods! His development sounds similar, I am having moments with my son which I would have expected to happen a few years go, the increased awareness, understanding and communication. All the things that make life bearable, happy even!

    • B's Dad says:

      Thanks for this. We had a real breakthrough today- B tried (!) and liked (!!) Yorkshire pudding. He might not like it next time but it might just be a food we can add to his list. Hurrah!

  7. J says:

    Enjoyed reading your blog, reminds me how much my now 16 year old son has calmed down over the years. Though I think the “bouncing off the walls” more erratic behavior of a 6 year old has been replaced with constant pacing, stimming (arm swinging windmills while jumping), dancing to loud music and jumping on the trampoline. Also the diet variety gets better as they get older I think…. even OCD kids eventually get bored with eating the same food year in year out. Last year I bought the “Eat this Not that for Kids” book and let him choose options from the “Eat This” side on each page. This made him very happy to be choosing his own food (he felt he’d gotten one over on me), and it made me feel slightly better that it was at least the healthier version of these foods….

Leave a Reply

