“Nanny and Grandad are going to Heaven”

 We’re off to Devon this week. Seven days, six adults, four children and one holiday apartment (gulp!). We had a similar holiday a couple of summers ago, with my parents. It’s remembered as the holiday when we spent eight hours driving down (as part of a mass exodus from the Midlands), when it chucked it down all week and we slummed it in a damp, pokey caravan. It was horrible. Back then, my eldest son had said, “Nanny and Grandad are going to heaven.” “Do you mean Devon, son?” we asked. “Oh yeah…” he replied. After the week we had, they probably thought it was more like hell than heaven. I hope this week will be an improvement.

Anyway, this is a post to say that Life with an Autistic Son will be taking a week off, but I’ll be back soon. It’s also a good excuse to say a big thank you to everyone who takes the time to read and give their support. It is much appreciated. A lifeline, in fact. For all the difficulties that living with autism brings, I can honestly say that it has brought into my life some wonderful people. Thanks everyone x

This entry was posted in asd, aspergers, autism and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Nanny and Grandad are going to Heaven”

  1. Dear B’s Dad,
    The same can be said of your blog and your posts! To many like myself and my family, the posts you post (!!) are a homorous, witty and insightful way of looking at and referencing life with autism. Since we’re still awaiting a formal diagnosis for my daughter, and unsure when and what will come in the future weeks/months/years, our blog is a lifeline to us, too. It shows me how to celebrate her life, and love her no matter what she does or says. It used to be instinct earlier, now its a conscious decision on my part. I’m still a ‘learning parent’….a WORK IN PROGRESS.
    Enjoy your week off, and paint lots of pictures (with words, as only you can do!) I’ll wait for the new posts!
    Thank you,
    sincerely,
    R.S

  2. Enjoy. We love Devon. I hope the weather stays good :)

  3. Lisa says:

    i just wanted to say i have read your whole blog over the last 2 days and i want to thank you for sharing. My 2+ 1/2 yr old son is about to be diagnosed with autism and i stumbled across this whilst doing my extensive research. i can relate a lot to your posts and it makes me smile.
    look forward to future reading
    Lisa

  4. B's Dad says:

    Thanks, Lisa, glad you like it! Good luck to you and your son.

Leave a Reply

