The Six Weeks Holiday

This post is now available in the ‘Life with an Autistic Son’ ebook available to download from Amazon.

LWAAS 3d book cover

This entry was posted in asd, aspergers, autism and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Six Weeks Holiday

  1. Louise says:

    He he he I feel your pain, do you live near the coast, a deserted beach always goes down well (even in the rain) although I do find myself running 1/2 a mile to catch my little runnaway. Its a bit nerdy but have you tried geocaching? Its like a treasure hunt to little boys and you can have some great country walks, we have discovered many new places (with no people!) because of it and my boys love hunting for the treasure. We are off camping in Cornwall for a week , wish us luck!

  2. middy64 says:

    Hahaha, I too feel your pain, and wrote about my fear of the school holidays looming just yesterday! When my lad was little, on rainy days we made an indoor camp using the dining room table and blankets. It stayed for weeks! but it made a great little retreat for him and kept him amused and calm………sometimes I was even invited in! Good luck :)

  3. tee hee, with you on the museum front. Such a shame. I recommend a trampoline for the garden and some strong spirits for you. If I come up with a better plan I’ll let you know :)

  4. Our kids have been on summer break for over a month now and we’ve still got about another month to go. Needless to say, my husband and I completely understand your trepidation. We have had to become very creative in our methods to keep our youngest child (with Autism) entertained and as meltdown free as possible. We have a trampoline in our backyard and highly recommend that. We even resorted to the indoor playground at McDonalds for an afternoon activity. It went better than we expected. Good luck and have fun!

  5. Pingback: Thinking the same thoughts (feeling part of something) « Take nothing for granted

  6. Angie says:

    My autistic son is 5. We have a trampoline in our back yard – the best money we ever spent. Add a garden hose for extra fun. My son is extremely active, the ADHD-type. The best activities for him are free-form exercise type activities, preferably fenced-in, as he will run off occasionally. Find something your son loves – mine loves swimming. So, every vacation, we find a pool close by, and go every day. Twice a day, morning and afternoon, or after dinner. Water parks. The other magical place for him are these indoor places with names like Crash Crawlies, Funtopia, Funtropolis, The Jungle, Kid Zone – they’re like rat-warrens for kids with tunnels and slides and ladders, and they only have a few exits, and the place is child-gated so that kids can’t leave without their parents. I’m not sure if they have these in Britain. Here’s a link to one: http://www.funtropolis.ca/pictures.html

    Depending on B, it may be overstimulating, but for my boy, he will run and climb for a good 2-4 hours, and be wiped out by the end so that he sleeps really really well.

    Those are our vacation strategies. We also try to get him into some kind of tutoring/ABA program/summer day camp designed for just him, or other autistic kids. My boy loves school and that kind of structure; it keeps him calmer, and that also gives me a few hours break in the day.

    Good luck! So I guess the philosophy is, “happy kids, happy vacation”. FInd the thing your boy will have a great time doing, and he’ll have a good time. Even if it’s an arcade.

Leave a Reply

