Who wants to be normal, anyway?

This post is now available in the ‘Life with an Autistic Son’ ebook available to download from Amazon.

LWAAS 3d book cover

This entry was posted in asd, aspergers, autism and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Who wants to be normal, anyway?

  1. seventhvoice says:

    Great post. I interviewed a mum last year who said of her son “people with Asperger’s don’t have Asperger’s when they’re alone. The problem is other people. Remove other people and they are fine”. Her comments really made me re-evaluate my own son’s reactions and greatly added to my understanding of him and his needs. I have to say that I agree. I wrote a post on the joys of finding a new kind of normal earlier this week. If you get time give it a read. I’d love to hear your response to it = )

  2. This is a great post. I campaign for disability rights in general and it is a common theme amongst disabled people that many of the difficulties and disabling barriers exist because of other people’s assumptions about what is ‘normal’. – The bit about watching your Son at the party touched me too. When my Son was that age I wanted to cry when I saw all the other kids playing together while he jumped up and down on his own or sat pushing a door backwards and forwards. It took me a long time to accept that he wasn’t at all unhappy about this, so I should learn to take me cues from him. It is still hard sometimes and I know my emotions are going to be tested when he starts high school in September.

  3. solodialogue says:

    Well written post with a clear message for us who must guide our ASD children toward a self-confident future. Our children are different. There is no arguing that as made clear whenever we attend a function that involves the little neurotypicals (NTs) and their “way with words.” (That is still a jolt every time it happens for me). Different does NOT mean “less”. And as you put it, we can celebrate those differences when we see them. We just have a lot of eyes to open as we go about each day, don’t we?

  4. Fiona says:

    I think this post is just great. Everyone is normal to themselves, aren’t they? It’s not for anyone else to try and impose an arbitrary sense of normality. Your son clearly has an array of wonderful talents and strengths. He sounds like a fantastic boy.

  5. dancingbeastie says:

    This is a wonderful post. These very positive reminders are hugely encouraging. I hope you don’t mind if I copy and paste the list of strengths for future inspiration!

Leave a Reply

