Guilt

This post is now available in the ‘Life with an Autistic Son’ ebook available to download from Amazon.

LWAAS 3d book cover

This entry was posted in asd, aspergers, autism and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Guilt

  1. chezmummy says:

    I can’t think of anything more boring than being made to memorise a poem by my dad during a school holiday. By the sound of things, I think you’re much more deserving of the Superdad title. You obviously care so much for your family

  2. You made me laugh at SuperFuckingDad!! I have sworn a lot over the past few years, sometimes very loudly… Just a question, no need to answer it, is there another fellow dad at work who is more encouraging, who gets it? He’s probably quiet and patient, a bit battle scarred. He might be the electrician or the IT guy, maybe the postman.

    The person I can speak openly to is my dental hygienist. So every four months I give her an update and she just understands.

  3. A good post. It clearly convey the guilt one feels when they have a special needs child.
    However, I would not compare yourself to SFD, you are doing the best you can.

  4. B's Dad says:

    The SFD backlash starts here!

  5. alexcparsons says:

    Well done B’s Dad! Searingly honest and the reason why B is so lucky to have you and hs Mum as parents. Sometimes it just gets too much. I know it has for me over the last 3 weeks of holiday and an additional family break… Keep smiling!

  6. stephstwogirls says:

    SFD doesn’t sound like much of a fun guy to me….. give him a wide berth from now on. Personally I much prefer the ‘Don’t Quit’ poem, much better put I think http://www.thedontquitpoem.com/thePoem.htm :) As far as work goes, do you have any inclination to change career a bit and help with Special Needs teaching in some way? Sure you’d be fab at it :)

  7. Angie says:

    This is my pick-me-up and find-the-beauty poem: http://www.cs.columbia.edu/~gongsu/desiderata_textonly.html

    Thanks for your honesty, and for putting my feelings into words.

    • Angie says:

      Also, my SuperFuckingMom friends are lovely, but arrrgh they have perfect, witty children!!! And they repost all these delightful, wise-seeming sayings and conversations all over Facebook. Just stop it.

  8. B's Dad says:

    Thanks everyone, particularly for the poems. I’m not sure about me but I know my wife has the makings of a brilliant SEN teacher/supporter.

  9. Pingback: Awkward Moments | Life with an Autistic Son

Leave a Reply

