A Helping Hand

This post is now available in the ‘Life with an Autistic Son’ ebook available to download from Amazon.

LWAAS 3d book cover

This entry was posted in asd, aspergers, autism and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Helping Hand

  1. Your first few paragraphs made me laugh out loud (please note that I did not use an acronym for that involuntary response) and I even read them out to my husband – a rare thing indeed :D. He and I are counting down the hours until we can send our oldest Little Person to school for all of six hours, our middle Little Person to nursery for three and I can try and remove the cat food/chairs to climb/lid-less pens/stack of CDs/cat poo etc out of reach of our youngest Little Person before he creates as much mischief on his own as the three of them armed together. Mostly though I think he’s counting down the hours until HE can escape back to work and leave me in a quivering wreck.

    Your last few paragraphs made me all teary and emotional (possibly due to the Wilfred Owenesque figure I have also become). As difficult as I find life with ‘neurotypical’ kids, it can’t compare to the battles you deal with, and you’re spot on with the reassuring knowledge that a helping hand is available to you, and that someone else gives a damn too.

    • Oh, yeah…my boys love the cat litter box for some unknown reason. The nonverbal twin finally said something about the litter…he said one word excitedly, “SAND!” I now know what he needs for Christmas besides the NABI tablet (I bought for him despite being broke)…a sand box!

      • B's Dad says:

        I was dreading taking my son on holiday to the beach this year. He was in the midst of his sand eating obsession so I thought we might have all sorts of problems on our hands. Oddly, he didn’t try eating the beach once, and hasn’t really done so since!

Leave a Reply

