Inclusion

This post is now available in the ‘Life with an Autistic Son’ ebook available to download from Amazon.

LWAAS 3d book cover

This entry was posted in asd, aspergers, autism and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Inclusion

  1. I love this post – what a happy ending!

  2. Buki's Mom says:

    I found your blog because you followed me on twitter. My three-year-old also has Asperger’s, and it looks like we grapple with some of the same questions and issues. I’m glad he was able to enjoy the party and exceeded everyone’s expectations!

  3. Sian sly says:

    wonderful story, so pleased you both took the decision to try instead of assuming B would not cope with the day, children are so full of surprises, so glad you took the gamble (nice you had a back up plan mind lol) wish you all the best x

  4. Anticipating Dad says:

    Inclusion is a great thing, even when there needs to be many extra considerations for it to be a success. great story and I’m glad it worked out well for you and B.

  5. Very thoughtful! I have a mild case of cerebral palsy and growing up my family faced inclusion related issues. While these issues maintained physical elements, I couldn’t help but notice similarities to your situation. I actually published an ebook titled Off Balanced on the Kindle and Nook discussing how my disability affected me socially as a teen. If anyone’s interested, please visit my corresponding blog http://www.offbalanced.wordpress.com.

  6. Louise says:

    Glad it worked out and he enjoyed the party. We also let our little boy have a go at everything and most of time it works out fine! We find as an emergency back up plan for eating out a portable DVD with headphones works wonders !!!

  7. C says:

    I came across your blog doing a tag search! I’m glad everything worked out for you! My son was diagnosed with ASD and I remember asking myself the same questions.

    Right now, we are looking for inclusion at his school. I find this is something that parents seem to struggle with alone as I haven’t found any support groups or blogs about it. Feel free to check it out, read, and share your own experiences. http://politicsofspecialed.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

